How do I become a specialist?

Typically, you begin training in a medical specialty after completing two or more years as a resident medical officer (RMO) employed by a hospital. During this residency you will get the chance to learn about different specialties to help you decide which – if any – to choose.

There are many different medical specialties, including:

  • Surgery
  • Anaesthesia
  • Emergency Medicine
  • General Practice
  • Immunology
  • Neurology
  • Obstetrics
  • Paediatrics

Medical specialty training is administered by the college related to that specialty.

Find out more about medical specialty options.


You may also be interested in: